joomlalasas.blogg.se

Intel i210 driver source
Intel i210 driver source





intel i210 driver source

I found out that the sources of the driver as part of the kernel source package are already different than the sources of the driver in the official standalone delivery package and if I could find a reason why the original driver is only 230kb and my version is nearly 4Mb. Then I compared the source of the kernel (including the driver) and the source of the original 5.0.5 driver to see if it would be possible to compile the latest driver for CentOS 6.6 in some way. I have tested the new compiled version of the driver and using Wireshark I found that the PTP procotol is not working correctly: only SYNC-messages are seen on the network, but no FOLLOWUP-messages. When I compile the network driver following the guidelines in the README contained in the igb-5.2.17.tar.gz, I get a new igb.ko file of nearly 4 Mb. The default driver as delivered in the CentOS 6.6 kernel-2.6.32-504.12.2. package is 233000 bytes in size.

intel i210 driver source

Now I want to recompile the driver from the original source package of version 5.2.17 on my platform (some relevant changes are done to the driver in respect with the I210 NIC), but there are some issues I cannot resolve. CentOS 6.6 by default delivers the IGB driver (for my NIC) version 5.0.5-k, but this version has some issues with my specific NIC that are resolved in later versions of the driver. The system is built around the support of PTP, which is backported to the kernel in CentOS 6.6. The system has a network NIC based on the (fairly recent) Intel I210 chipset.

INTEL I210 DRIVER SOURCE UPGRADE

Due to the required installation of 3rd-party software that is only available in a 32-bit version, it is currently not possible to upgrade to CentOS 7. I use the i386 (x86, 32-bits) version of the OS.

intel i210 driver source

I have a system that runs on CentOS 6.6 (with the latest patches applied).







Intel i210 driver source